Utah Plein Air
· September 16 through September 24, 2016 - Create artworks outdoors, anywhere in the state of Utah.
· through September 24, 2016 – Works accepted at museum. (All work to be entered in the show must be at the museum by 5pm on Saturday, September 24. No exceptions will be made.)
· Open to all ages.
· Purchase prizes totaling up to $4,000 will be awarded. The Museum Director will exercise discretion from the board in determining how prize money will be awarded.
· Artworks must be two-dimensional and produced outdoors in Utah (no studio retouching).
· Entry fee for painters and draftspeople is $35; photographers, $20.
· Artists can submit two works which must be stamped and ready to hang at time of submission. (No claw hangers! Should have good quality picture hanging wire attached with d/o or similar rings. See below.)
· There is a limit of six stamps per person.
· Photographers must submit EXIF data with prints. (Please submit a print that is ready to hang, as well as the original image on a cd or dvd.)
· Maximum size is 30 inches on the long side for all works.
· Artworks accepted for exhibition will hang in the museum October 4 - November 5, 2016. The show will be juried (juror tba).
· Hours of operation are Tuesday through Friday from 11 a.m. to 6 p.m. and Saturday from 1 to 5 p.m.
“En plein air” is a French expression that refers to the 19th century style of painting outdoors.
Sponsors for the 2016 Utah Plein Air include:
Anonymous in honor of Frederick Oscar Kotter
Box Elder County Photographer's Club
Box Elder News Journal
Jon Bunderson, Attorney at Law
Molgard Law Offices
Q: Do I have to paint on canvas?
A: No, paint or draw on whatever surface you prefer.
Q: Do I have to live in Box Elder County to participate?
A: No, participants are welcome from anywhere in the world.
Q: Where must I create the work of art?
A: Outside, anywhere in the state of Utah.
Q: Can I use props?
A: No, items appearing in your work of art should already exist outside (i.e., may include extant buildings, but not a bowl of fruit brought outside).
Q: How many works of art may I submit?
A: You can submit two works of art in your category (the entry fee remains the same whether you submit one or two).
Q: What do you mean by stamped canvases?
A: Bring the blank canvas of your choice (canvas, board, paper, whatever) to the museum during the designated stamping days. You may have up to six (6) canvases stamped. You then will paint/draw on these canvases, and will choose up to two of them to enter in the competition. Canvases that have not been stamped will not be accepted.
Q: How do I provide EXIF data if I'm a photographer?
A: Bring the printed photograph (ready to hang), as well as a CD or DVD with the original photograph on it (jpeg, raw, or tiff is fine).
Q: What is the entry fee?
A: The entry fee is $35 for painting/drawing/sculpture, and $20 for photography. The entry fee must be paid at the time canvases are stamped, by cash, money order, or credit card.
Q: What about sculptors? Can we participate?
A: Yes, as long as you follow the plein air philosophy (i.e., work outside, from nature, and not in the studio).
Q: Can I sell my work that is juried into the show?
A: Yes. When you bring your work in for the competition, we will ask you to fill out a form including many items of relevant information, including whether the work may be sold, and if so, at what price. Please note that the museum takes a 20% gallery commission on works sold, so be sure to factor that in to your pricing.
Q: What is a purchase prize?
A: Some works of art will be selected for purchase, to become part of the Brigham City Museum's collection.
Q: What do you mean by "ready to hang."
A: The item should have hangers to allow us to hang it on the wall, needing only a nail or two to do so. Claw hangers are not allowed. Please attach D or O rings and picture hanging wire. It does not need to be framed (gallery wrap is fine for canvas), but it does need to be completely ready to hang. For example:
Quick tutorial on attaching D rings and wire to picture frame